Defining four edge archetypes

Defining four edge archetypes

Vertiv edge experts, in conjunction with an independent third party consulting firm, analyzed the use cases that comprise the edge ecosystem to develop a better understanding of these differences and their implications for the supporting infrastructure. As a result of this analysis, we have identified four main archetypes for edge applications:

  • Data Intensive.
  • Human-Latency Sensitive.
  • Machine-to-Machine-Latency Sensitive.
  • Life Critical.

A look to the future

Download the whitepaper

Technology Requirements for Local and Regional Hubs

Every archetype will also require a local data hub, which provides storage and processing in close proximity to the source. In some cases, the local hub may be a freestanding data center. More commonly, it will be a rack- or row-based system providing 30-300 kW of capacity in an integrated enclosure that can be installed in any environment.

For archetypes that require a high degree of availability, such as Machine-to-Machine Latency Sensitive and Life Critical, the local hub should include redundant backup power systems and be equipped to enable remote management and monitoring. Many uses cases will also require data encryption and other security features within the local hub.


Intelligent Enclosed DataCenter

Vertiv GXT4.JPG

Switched, monitored,
Basic‎ Power Distribution Units

Vertiv Rack PDU

Liebert Switched, monitored,
Basic‎ Power Distribution Units

The personal data that you provide to Anixter will be processed in accordance with our Privacy Policy.